Posthumous Amy Winehouse Album to Be Released

by on March 7th, 2015
Share Button

A new, posthumously released Amy Winehouse album will be released in December.

“Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures”, on Island Records, features 12 tracks recorded between 2002 and 2008. “Back to Black” producers Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson compiled the unreleased Winehouse tracks. A pound from every UK copy sold of the new album will go to the Amy Winehouse Foundation, a charity set up by her family following her death last July.

One of the new songs, “Between the Cheats”, is thought to be about Winehouse’s troubled marriage to Blake Civil-Fielder. Another, “Like Smoke” finds Winehouse duetting with rapper Nas. Covers of The Shirelles “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow”, the bossa nova hit “The Girl From Ipanema”, and Donny Hathaway’s “A Love For You” are also featured. Winehouse’s final recording, a duet with Tony Bennett on “Body and Soul” also appears on the new album. It was one of the tracks on Bennett’s “Duets II” CD, released two months ago.

Winehouse’s father, Mitch, told the UK Sun newspaper that the new CD stands along with the two albums released during her lifetime. “Had the family felt this album wasn’t up to the standard of Amy’s others, Frank and Back To Black, we’d never have agreed to release it” he said. “We believe it will stand as a fitting tribute to her musical legacy.”

“Lioness” was also the name of the record label Winehouse set up in 2009. Her goddaughter, Dionne Bromfield, and UK soul singer Liam Bailey are currently signed to the label

The track listing for “Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures”:

1. “Our Day Will Come” (Reggae Version)

2. “Between the Cheats”

3. “Tears Dry” (Ballad version)

4. “Wake Up Alone”

5. “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow”

6. “Valerie”-A slowed down version of her Zutons cover

7. “Like Smoke”featuring Nas

8. “The Girl From Ipanema”

9. “Halftime” featuring Ahmir “Questlove” of The Roots

10. “Best Friends”

11. “Body & Soul” with Tony Bennett

12. “A Song For You”


“Amy Winehouse: New Album to Be Released” by Monique Jessen,, October 31, 2011.

“Amy Winehouse’s Secret New Album” by Gordon Smart, The Sun, October 31, 2011.

“Lioness: Hidden Treasures Announcement”, Amy, October 11, 2011.

Prev Article: »
Next Article: «

Related Articles