WWE: Shawn Michaels- My Journey DVD Review

by on September 11th, 2010
Share Button

Shawn Michaels is one of the greatest wrestling legends ever. He has earned many nicknames over his career. He never grows old or tired to watch. That is why he is so great. He can either be a super hero or a despicable heel. This is Shawn’s third dvd set to be released by the WWE. This three disc set came out in 2010, and clocks in at 9 hours. When first released, it was 30 dollars. Now you can find a copy half the price brand new or used.

Disc 1

Shawn throughout the dvd is being interviewed by Michael Cole. Shawn gives his perspective on the matches, the people he worked with, and a lot of other things that are awesome. Michael does a good job with the questioning as well.

Matches

Shawn Michaels vs One Man Gang at World Class Championship Wrestling 1/11/85- Shawn got squashed in this match, however Shawn showed that he had “it”. I give it a 7/10

Midnight Rockers vs Buddy Rose and Doug Somers at AWA Wrestlerock 4/20/86- A great tag team bout,that had a lot of high flying action going on. I give it a perfect rating.

Midnight Rockers vs The Nasty Boys on AWA Championship Wrestling 3/5/88- The Rockers show how talented they are, by adapting to the Nasty Boys brawling style and make the match decent. I give it a perfect rating.

Rockers vs Brain Busters at the Boston Garden 3/18/89- Another classic with the Rockers giving the Busters everything they got. The Busters took it and gave them there own. I give it a perfect rating

Rockers vs The Hart Foundation at Madison Square Garden 11/25/89- Although it ended in a draw, both teams put on a wrestling clinic. I give it a perfect rating

Shawn Michaels vs Bret Hart at Ottawa Ontario 6/2/92- A lost classic to say the least in this infamous rivarly. Shawn does alternate commentary with Michael Cole, and it makes the match more special. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs British Bulldog on Raw 3/6/95- Just as epic, as there previous bout for the I.C title a few years back. Both men tried to out power and out wrestle the other. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs Sid Vicious on Raw 9/11/95- A short awesome match, with Shawn pulling a great match out of Sid. Sid at the time never had opponents like Shawn, that could of made him a better wrestler. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs 123 Kid on Raw 3/4/96- Shawn and Kid showed a lot of athleticism with an array of aerial moves. I give it a perfect rating.

Disc 2

Shawn Michaels vs Mankind on Raw 8/11/97- A very physical and intense clash, with both men dishing and taking alot of punishment. Mick Foley has said that this was one of his favorite matches, because Shawn brought out the best of him to perform at that level. This match also shows how DX was formed. I give it a perfect rating.

British Bulldog vs Shawn Michaels at One Night Only 9/20/97- This was for the European Title, and Shawn thanks to DX help overthrow Bulldog’s reign as champ in his hometown. This was a spetacular match though, cause both men really made the crowd go wild. This made DX in my mind more popular because of the interference and all. I give it a perfect rating

Shawn Michaels vs Undertaker at the Royal Rumble 1/18/98- The infamous match were Shawn hurt his back, when he landed on top of the casket. This match also took almost 5 years away from Shawn after he retired at WM 14. This was by far the best casket match ever, because both men had chemistry. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs Chris Jericho at Wrestlemania 19 3/30/03- An awesome return for HBK at WM after 5 years to wrestle Chris. They both have the same style as terms of wrestling. There were alot of near falls and excitement. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs Ric Flair at Bad Blood 6/15/03- A great match that had some cool high spots in it. It was short but sweet as they say. There is also alternative commentary on this match as well from Shawn and Michael. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs Kurt Angle at Wrestlemania 21 4/3/05- This to me is by far not only the best match on the dvd, but in Wrestlemania history as well. Shawn and Kurt had great magic with each other by showing how well they can wrestle. The fans let them both know that they were winners. I give this a perfect rating,

Disc 3

Shawn Michaels vs Triple H on Raw 12/19/05- A boot camp match, that both men thrived on in front of the troops. This was more emotional for Shawn because he grew up on a military base. I give it a perfect rating.

John Cena vs Shawn Michaels vs Edge vs Randy Orton at Backlash 4/29/07- A fatal for way match, that had one of the greatest finishes of all time. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs Randy Orton at Survivor Series 11/18/07- A great match Shawn made without being able to use his superkick. I give it a perfect rating.

Shawn Michaels vs Chris Jericho at Unforgiven 9/7/08- An unsanctioned match were anything goes. This was Shawn at his most brutal and darkest match thanks to the storyline, I give it a perfect rating.

Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels at Wrestlemania 25 4/5/09- An absolute classic of a match. I remember watching this on PPV. To me this saved the PPV from a bad rating because the rest of the card stunk. Just a great display from two legends. I give it a perfect rating.

Overall this is another excellent release by the WWE. They did a great job production wise, match wise, and box art wise. Shawn was great to listen to about his career. This dvd is a must own for any Shawn Michaels or wrestling fan out there.


Prev Article: »
Next Article: «

Related Articles