WWE Legends: Jake “The Snake” Roberts- Pick Your Poison Dvd Review

by on September 11th, 2012
Share Button

Jake Roberts has been one of the most gifted wrestlers to ever come through WWE. His ring psychology, and his dark interviews or promos were top notch. In this dvd you will see why, told by many wrestlers and mainly by himself. This 2 disc set was released in 2005, and clocks in at almost 9 hours. The documentary part although great, isn’t for children to see, cause there’s a lot of dark stuff that Jake details of his life. You can find this new at stores for 20 dollars or more. If used, there a lot cheaper to find.

Disc 1

The documentary- This is about 3 to 4 hours long. Jake talks about his rough childhood and how much it has affected him throughout his life. Then wanting to wrestle, to prove his father Grissly Smith (a legendary wrestler) that he could make it. Then he goes into detail about his journey into the wrestling territories. How he invented the DDT, and the name for it. Then how he landed in the WWF, and how it made him a household name. Then he talks about how his addictions to drugs and alcohol came about, and how it plague his career. The feud he had with Honky Tonk Man that got him injured, and there Wrestlemania 3 match with Alice Cooper. His infamous feud with Rick Rude that involved Jakes real life wife. Then how his addictions got worsen which led him out of the WWF, into the WCW. Then being misused and eventually let go by them. He would retire and come back to the WWF. Then how his religious belief’s helped build him up, but also Stone Cold Steve Austin at King of the Ring. Then his feud with Jerry Lawler which was a disaster for Jake. Then he got let go again, after problems from home made him worse. His retirement again, the Beyond The Mat fiasco were it painted Jake as frail. Then his reflections on his career.

Extras

Jake Roberts vs. Ricky Steamboat at The Big Event 8/28/86- A snake pit match which is a no dq style of match. They took each other to the limit, and made this a great match. I give it a perfect rating.

Jake Roberts vs Honky Tonk Man at Wrestlemania 3 3/29/87- Jake and Jim Ross do alternative commentary which makes this match better. I give it a perfect rating

Jake Roberts vs “Ravishing” Rick Rude at Madison Square Garden 10/24/88- This was a finisher match, whoever hit there’s first wins. I give it a perfect rating and to me its the best match on here.

Snake Bites- Jake tells stories about kids, TV, how he became the “The Snake”, his feud with Hulk Hogan and how it never happened, and a lot more.

Disc 2

Jake Roberts and Ricky Steamboat vs Jim Nelson and Mike Miller on Mid Atlantic 9/9/81- A solid tag team battle with a young Ricky and Jake showing off there greatness. I give it a 9/10

Jake Roberts vs Ronnie Garvin on Georgia Championship 12/3/83- This was another rare gem to be found with Jake being excellent. I give it a 8/10

Jake Roberts vs Leaping Lanny Poffo at MSG 3/16/86- Jakes debut in the WWF which was a squash match for him. I give it a 6/10

Jake Roberts vs Earthquake on Superstars 4/27/91- This really wasn’t a match. It was just Earthquake squashing Damien the snake. I give it a 1/10

Jake Roberts vs Sting at Halloween Havoc 10/25/92- A coal miners glove match, were one of the wrestlers climbs up and gets the glove off the pole. Then to hit the opponent with the glove. This was a really great match, that showed the athleticism both guys had. I give it a 8/10

Jake Roberts vs Dirty White Boy on Smokey Mountain Wrestling 5/7/94- An alright match that was nothing special. I give it a 7/10

Jake Roberts vs Stone Cold Steve Austin at King of the Ring 6/23/96- This match is important, for both WWE and Stone Cold but not for Jake. I would of just showed highlights of the promo he cut. I give it a 6/10

Jake Roberts vs Jerry Lawler at Summerslam 8/18/96- This really wasn’t a match, but its still good for what its worth. I give it a 7/10

Jake Roberts and Tommy Dreamer vs Justin Credible and Jack Victory at November 2 Remember 11/1/98- A wild match that got out of control really quick. I give it a 7/10

Interviews and Promos- I give this whole selection a perfect rating. Jake was the best on the mic, and my favorite promos are with The Ultimate Warrior.

Snake Pit- I give this a perfect rating as well, Jake can really talk on the mic. His pit features Kamala, Junkyard Dog, and Hulk Hogan.

Overall this is a solid release by the WWE. The match selection could of been better, but its still pretty good The documentary is well worth the price alone along with everything else. This is a great buy for any fan of Jake’s or the WWE’s.


Prev Article: »
Next Article: «

Related Articles